A Lover I Have Neglected

I’ve been in the city for about 6 months and have yet to stop by one of my favorite Chelsea galleries, the David Zwirner gallery.

I feel like such a dilettante sometimes, engaging in visual art by way of the interweb. I have to figure out how to manage my weekend time better, meaning, less trekking for foodstuff (Brooklyn Kitchen visits consume half a day usually–do I really need THIS much grasss-fed beef?), more visiting of galleries and museums and the yoga studio. I missed out on a Thomas Ruff show, although from the select works I saw online, didn’t miss too much. However, the gallery is currently housing a joint show for Mamma Andersson and Jockum Nordstrom, Swedish artist couple who until this show, have never exhibited their work together. Talk about separate bank accounts! “That’s MY tube of gouache, Jockum.”

I especially like Mamma Andersson’s style (though quite similar to Nordstrom’s)– not going to critique artwork I haven’t seen in person, so I’ll tease you with some press photos. Maybe I’ll see you this weekend? And then we can head over to El Quinto Pino for a frozen horchata and an uni panini afterwards.

David Zwirner Gallery
525 West 19th Street
New York, NY 10011-2808
(212) 675-0507

Leave a Reply

