viva Taiwan!

01truck650.3

Thomas Yang, I presume, holding up Taiwanese grub. Argh. He’s selling Vitadrinks also?

..

Since the food-truck/street cart boom that has taken over the US, I have joked with friends about driving my own truck around, serving up Taiwanese street snacks (my fav!). There are so many dishes that would be appropriate, after all, Taiwan’s cuisine is steadfastly recognized and raved about, for its street-y appeal. It’s what you do while in Taiwan- you eat at all yummy but slightly gnarly street carts and hole-in-the-walls.

Anyway, I thought I was onto something, but then I read today’s Dining pages of the NYT and found out that such a truck already exists. A Mr. Thomas Yang in NYC operates a truck with which he doles out traditional Taiwanese street food. His menu consists of:

Taiwanese style fried chicken over rice with secret pork sauce $6
Taiwanese style fried pork chop over rice with secret pork sauce $7
Taiwanese style fried tianbula (fish cake) over rice with secret pork sauce $8
Taiwanese snack platter (tea egg over rice with secret pork sauce in a small container) $4
Four pieces of handmade steamed dumplings (vegan, pork, or mix) $3

Yes, I am slightly perturbed by this. I can’t believe that he picked the one cuisine I didn’t think anyone would ever want to sell out of truck–even though it’s practically made for it. I wonder how the food fares. I’m interested in finding out. Anyone want to buy me a ticket to NY to try this? I’ll happily accept.

Check out his website: NYC CRAVINGS

2 comments
  1. annie said:

    MUST GO.

  2. lynrei said:

    where’s the stinky tofu!

Leave a Reply

