6/5 thoughts

..

..

n2500892_46698893_5174478

The Hardest thing!

Who knew that saying goodbye
would be easier than saying hello.
Carbon copies of wet paper dolls
we wave, elbows touching slight
-the alembic of former we to now me
and possibly you. That was the easy part.

I was ok with burying our
haphazardly-directed silent films with
mime-like precision.
Burying the “I love you”s
until I become deaf-mute
and the heart
becomes an empty shell
a killing joke.
I’m cool with that.

A little bit happenstance
mostly like clockwork
I fumble my way through a crowded room and
See your lines
(you used to dizzy me with your circles)
You’re holding
a drink but not me. Here comes the hard part.

Hello, you are real again
unfamiliar but alive, smiling,
tugging my sleeve–
it’s so cruel. The nonchalance is
so brutal
and this 30-second earthquake
debilitates but it
passes. And then you pass.

I go on my way.

Leave a Reply

