daydreaming

dd3

I love things made out of yarn, especially jewelry. Over winter break, I knitted a chain-link necklace for my friend Christine out of yarn. It was my rookie attempt to create a luxurious accessory out of wool. I’ll have to ask Christine how that necklace is holding up.


Daydream Nation
, a UK-based design team, creates whimsical pieces out of yarn that not only exhibit laudable craftsmanship, but also a good sense of humor. Kay and Jing Wong, the masterminds behind the brand, recently wrote to me about their Fall/Winter 2009 line and I fell in love with the “His Glasses” necklace that resembles a dangling pair of specs, crocheted of course. Since it doesn’t get cold enough in LA for scarves until the last bit of December, Daydream Nation’s newest collection meets us half-way. We get the scarf experience, but not really. Heck, I’d wear it in the summer with a bathing suit just to be ironic, or fashionable–you decide.

daydreamnation

ddpat2

Daydream Nation can be found all over the world, sold at stores like Selfriges, Topshop, Henri Bendel, Beams, etc.

Leave a Reply

